Maria Fazio
PhD – Professor

Assistant Professor in Computer Science at the University of Messina (Italy). She is member of the Editorial Review Board of several international journals (e.g., Scientific Reports, Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing-John Wiley & Sons and Hindaw) and has been co-editor of a number of Special Issues published in international journals (e.g., IEEE Cloud Computing).  Currently, she is responsible for the University of Messina of the CINI “HPC: Key Technologies and Tools” (HPC-KTT) National Laboratory. Her research interests are focused on Computing continuum, with particular reference to intelligent microservice orchestration, auto-configuring mesh networks at the Edge, security in IoT-Edge ecosystems.

Francesco Martella
PhD Student

PhD student at the University of Messina with a scholarship funded by the European Union program – FSE, PON Research and Innovation 2014-2020 Axis I – Action I.1 “Innovative PhDs with industrial characterization”. He collaborated with the company Alma Digit s.r.l. carrying out research activities within the European Urbanite project (G.A. N ° 870338) with reference to disruptive technologies in the field of urban mobility. He was a grant holder at UniME in several projects in collaboration with the Municipality of Messina. He also carried out various activities for the evaluation of research results through patenting procedures. He is the winner of FIWARE foundation awards for applications in the Smart City area.

Josef Spillner
PhD – Professor

Head of the Distributed Application and Service Prototyping Lab and associate professor at Zurich University of Applied Sciences. He advances computing paradigms around the topics of cloud-native and post-cloud applications, big data computing, serverless computing, messaging and microbilling. In his career, he published a doctoral dissertation about metaquality of services and a habilitation treatise about stealth computing in multi-cloud environments. He is senior member of IEEE and member of ACM. PhD 2010 and habilitation 2016 from Dresden University of Technology. He is regular organizer or other chair role in IEEE/ACM UCC and BDCAT since 2013. Industry co-chair of ACM DEBS 2023.


Program Committee Members

Alessio CatalfamoUniversity of Messina, Italy
Antonino QuattrocchiUniversity of Messina, Italy
Antonio GuerrieriICAR-CNR, Italy
Blesson VargheseQueens University Belfast, UK
Christian SicariUniversity of Messina, Italy
Daniel BatistaIME – USP, Brazil
Ignacio (Iñaki) Olabarrieta PalaciosTecnalia, Spain
Joseph DoyleQueen Mary University London, UK
Osama AlmurshedCardiff University, UK
Paulo RettoreFraunhofer FKIE, Germany
Prasad CalyamUniversity of Missouri, USA
Valeria LukajUniversity of Messina, Italy
Panagiotis GkikopoulosZurich University of Applied Sciences
Rafael Tolosana CalasanzUniversity of Zaragoza
Marco GarofaloUniversity of Pisa
Davide CiraoloCampus Biomedico University of Rome